Book winners in Western History announced

WHA 2013 Award WinnersOver the past month the Western History Association and Denver Public Library’s Western/Genealogy Department announced the winners of numerous book prizes in western history. Winners included several boarder lands histories, two works on Japanese internment, Native American history, and the 18th century West. We here at BlogWest wish to congratulate each of the winners, and look forward to sitting down with your books soon.

W. TURRENTINE-JACKSON AWARD  – Paul W. Mapp, The Elusive West and the Contest for Empire, 1713-1763

JOAN PATTERSON KERR AWARD – Eric L. Muller, Colors of Confinement: Rare Kodachrome Photographs of Japanese American Incarceration in World War II

ROBERT M. UTLEY AWARD – Amy S. Greenberg, A Wicked War: Polk, Clay, Lincoln, and the 1846 U.S. Invasion of Mexico

HAL K. ROTHMAN AWARD – Lissa K. Wadewitz, The Nature of Borders: Salmon, Boundaries, and Bandits on the Salish Sea

DAVID J. WEBER-CLEMENTS PRIZE – Lance R. Blyth, Chiricahua and Janos: Communities of Violence in the Southwestern Borderlands, 1680-1880

CAUGHEY WESTERN HISTORY ASSOCIATION PRIZE – Frederick E. Hoxie, This Indian Country: American Indian Activists and the Place They Made

CAROLINE BANCROFT HISTORY PRIZE – Greg Robinson, After Camp: Portraits in Mid Century Japanese American Life and Politics

0 comments on “Book winners in Western History announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: