Spur Award Winners and Finalists Announced

The Western Writers of America have announced the winners and finalists of its annual Spur Awards, given for distinguished writing about the American West. The awards presentations will be made during the organization’s Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 24-28, 2013.

The categories, along with the winners and finalists are as follow:

Best Western Short Novel

Winner: Tucker’s Reckoning Matthew Mayo New American Library
Finalist: Lonesome Animals Bruce Holbert Counterpoint Press
Finalist: City of Rocks Michael Zimmer Five Star Publishing

Best Western Long Novel

Winner: With Blood in Their Eyes Thomas Cobb University of Arizona Press
Finalist: The Orchardist Amandan Coplin HarperCollins
Finalist: Country of the Bad Wolfes James Carlos Blake Cinco Puntos Press

Best Original Mass Market Paperback

Winner: The Coyote Tracker Larry Sweazy Berkley
Finalist: Redemption: Hunters James Reasoner Berkley
Finalist: The Secret of Lodestar Tim Champlin Berkley

Best First Novel

Winner: Panhandle Brett Cogburn Pinnacle
Finalist: Wide Open Larry Bjornson Penguin Group/AWOC
Finalist: The Orchardist Amanda Coplin HarperCollins

Best Western Nonfiction Biography

Winner: Geronimo Robert M. Utley Yale University Press
Finalist: Ho! For the Black Hills: Captain Jack Crawford Reports the Black Hills Gold Rush and Great Sioux War Paul L. Hedren South Dakota State Historical Society Press
Finalist: “That Fiend in Hell”: Soapy Smith in Legend Catherine Holder Spude University of Oklahoma Press

Best Western Nonfiction Historical

Winner: With Golden Visions Bright Before Them: Trails to the Mining West, 1849-1852 Will Bagley University of Oklahoma Press
Finalist: Terrible Justice: Sioux Chiefs and U.S. Soldiers on the Upper Missouri, 1954-1868 Doreen Chaky The Arthur H. Clark Company
Finalist: Deliverance from the Little Big Horn: Doctor Henry Porter and Custer’s Seventh Cavalry Joan Nabseth Stevenson University of Oklahoma Press

Best Western Nonfiction Contemporary

Winner: Desert Reckoning: A Town Sheriff, A Mojave Hermit and the Biggest Manhunt in Modern California History Deanne Stillman Nation Books
Finalist: Colorado Powder Keg: Ski Resorts and the Environmental Movement Michael W. Childers University Press of Kansas
Finalist: Desert America: Boom and Bust in the New Old West Ruben Martinez Metropolitan Books, Henry Holt and Company

Best Western Short Fiction Story

Winner: “The Hog Whisperer” John Mort Flint Hills Review
Finalist “The Saint of Pox Island” Susan K. Salzer Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
Finalist: “The Day Delgado Rode In” Lori Van Pelt Outlaws and Lawmen/La Frontera Publishing

Best Western Short Nonfiction

Winner: “Marathoner Louis Tewanima and the Continuity of Hopi Running, 1908-1912″ Matthew Sakiestewa Gilbert Western Historical Quarterly
Finalist: “Libbie Custer: ‘A Wounded Thing Must Hide’” Paul Andrew Hutton Wild West
Finalist “‘Wearing the Hempen Neck-Tie’: Lynching in Nebraska 1858-1919″ James E. Potter Nebraska History

Best Western Juvenile Fiction

Winner: Wide Open Larry Bjornson Penguin Group
Finalist: Blooming Prairie Candace Simar North Star Press of St. Cloud
Finalist: And There I’ll Be A Soldier Johnny D. Boggs Five Star Publishing/Gale

Best Western Juvenile Nonfiction

Winner: Light on the Prairie: Solomon D. Butcher, Photographer of Nebraska’s Pioneer Days Nancy Plain University of Nebraska Press
Finalist: The Great Bicycle Experiment: The Army’s Historic Black Bicycle Corps, 1896-97 Kay Moore Mountain Press Publishing Company
Finalist: Strike!: Mother Jones & the Colorado Coal Field War Lois Ruby Filter Press

Storyteller Award

Winner: Pecos Bill Invents the Ten-Gallon Hat Kevin Strauss, illustrated by David Harrington Pelican Publishing
Finalist: The Adventures of Buffalo Joe and The Blackbird With the Broken Wing Jamie Anne Blake Homestead Publishing
Finalist: Big Buckaroo and Moose, The Cow Dog Rachelle “Rocky” Gibbons, illustrated by Jason Hutton Tate Publishing

Best Western Drama Script (Fiction)

Winner: Django Unchained Quentin Tarantino The Weinstein Company
Finalist: Hatfields & McCoys Bill Kerby, Ted Mann, Ronald Parker Thinkfactory Media/History Channel
Finalist: Justified Graham Yost, Elmore Leonard, Dave Andron, Fred Golan, Benjamin Cavell, Taylor Elmore, Jon Worley, Nichelle D. Tramble, Ryan Farley, Ingrid Escajeda, V.J. Boyd FX Network

Best Western Documentary Script (Nonfiction)

Winner: The Dust Bowl Dayton Duncan Florentine Films
Finalist: No Winner

Best Western Poem

Winner: “Johnny Ringo” Red Shuttleworth Riverhouse
Finalist: “Night Singer, Chaco Canyon, New Mexico” Steve Fieffenbacher Wordcraft of Oregon
Finalist: “Nat Maringo” Robert Brown Brave New Genre Inc.

Best Western Audiobook

Winner: Ring of Fire Cotton Smith Books In Motion
Finalist: Trouble in Texas Tom Nichols Books in Motion

Best Western Song

Winner: “Texas Is Burnin’” Jim Jones Jim Jones Music
Winner: “Any Name Will Do” Mary Kaye Knaphus Enterprises
Finalist: “The Last Real Cowboy in Old Santa Fe” Jerry Faires Silversmith Records

1 comment on “Spur Award Winners and Finalists Announced

  1. Congratulations, Mike! You’re in some good company that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: